State Representative
james l. buchal picture
James L.


Occupation: Attorney, author and activist

Occupational Background: Partner, Murphy & Buchal LLP

Educational Background: Harvard College, A.B.; Yale School of Management, M.B.A.; Yale Law School, J.D.

Prior Governmental Experience:
Special Prosecutor, Multnomah County

I’ve spent a dozen years fighting government waste and abuse in state and federal courts throughout the Northwest. I’ve watched our Legislature send forth armies of public employees to second-guess each other’s work and compete to see who can cripple the economy the most. And I’ve listened to my wife, born and raised in Canby, describe the Oregon she grew up
with, and what happened to it.

I oppose courts and bureaucrats putting themselves above the People by inventing the “law” instead of interpreting it. I oppose burning down Oregon’s forests and clubbing salmon to death to “save the environment”. These things happen because of badly written laws, and I am sick and tired of watching the Legislature pass bad laws because it listens to taxpayer-funded lobbyists instead of real people.

As your representative, I won’t just ask agencies for a list of cuts and hope that trimming around the edges solves the problem. I know that we must prune the State’s budget to eliminate outright the programs and laws that matter only to bureaucrats and special interests. I know that if we keep on electing government people to fix government, they will just build bigger empires on our backs.

I’m running for District 18 because I don’t want to look my children in the eye and say I did nothing as their freedoms withered away. Oregonians are sinking under a crushing load of debt, taxes, regulation and illegal immigration. I am not afraid to challenge those who call evil good and good evil, the first step toward fixing these problems.

If you elect me, I’ll be a champion of the People, not a servant of overbearing government. Questions? Call 503-227-1011, x2, or e-mail

(This information furnished by Buchal for District 18.)
Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney