State Representative
frank a. butler picture

Frank A.


Occupation: Police Officer, City of McMinnville

Occupational Background: U.S. Coast Guard; Corrections Officer; McMinnville Police Detective; President, McMinnville Police Officers Association; Past President, McMinnville Volunteer Fire Department Association

Educational Background: Advanced Certificate D.P.S.S.T. AA Criminal Justice; AS Police Sciences; Newberg High School Prior Governmental Experience: Planning Commissioner, City of McMinnville

Personal: Frank and his wife Teresa have been married for 22 years and have three children: Frank III 20, Brian 16 and Kindra 6.

Jobs and the Economy

As we all know, Oregon’s economy has been among the slowest to begin recovery from this latest downturn. Our unemployment rate continues to rank among the highest in the nation. As we move forward, the key to revitalizing our economy is the creation of family wage jobs, especially those that will allow people to live and work in Yamhill and Polk Counties. We must also diversify the economy, expanding the tax base to protect against future downturns.

Stable Funding for Education and Emergency Services

As a parent, I understand the importance of a quality education for all children. Oregon needs to develop a responsible, sustainable budget for all levels of education that provides excellence for our children and accountability to taxpayers. As your State Representative, I will use my experience as a member of McMinnville’s police force and as a volunteer fire fighter to explain the importance of Oregon’s emergency services. These programs need solid, consistent funding so Oregon’s citizens are able to trust that help will be there when they are in need.

Accountability and Efficiency in Salem

I am committed to restoring your faith in government by finding ways to spend our tax dollars more efficiently and making tough decisions. Living within our means is the answer to our budgetary woes, not more taxes. As your State Representative, I will work hard to earn your trust and be accountable as we work together to solve Oregon’s budget problems.

(This information furnished by Butler for House District 24 Committee.)
Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney