State Representative
r thomas (tom) butler picture
R. Thomas (Tom)


Occupation: Certified Public Accountant.

Occupational Background: Active in private CPA practices (1970-1998). Business, Farm and Ranch Taxation. Commercial real estate development and management.

Educational Background: Vale Public Schools; Ontario High School (1964); BYU (1970) B.S. Accounting, Business Administration and Economics (Spanish concentration).

Prior Governmental Experience: Oregon House of Representatives (elected 1998, 2000 and 2002). Oregon Ways & Means Full Committee. Ways and Means Sub-Committees: General Government (Chair, 1999 and 2003), Transportation and Economic Development (Chair, 2001), Public Safety (2003). Legislative interim committees: Legislative Task Force on Tax Reform (Co-Chair, 2004); House Committee on Government Operations Oversight (2004); Emergency Board; and, Joint Legislative Committee on Information Management and Technology (Co-Chair 2001). Member: State Debt Policy Advisory Commission; Oregon Council for Knowledge and Economic Development; and, Oregon International Trade Commission. Malheur County Commissioner (1993 - 1999). State and local budget boards. Association of Oregon Counties. Malheur County Republican Central Committee (past Treasurer).

Personal: Married for 35+ years; five children (and five grandchildren); active in community, civic, church and professional

  1. Strengthening Oregon’s Schools. Allocate Oregon’s resources to ensure that Oregon invests appropriately in high quality K-16 educational choices for Oregon’s youth. Provide our students with the opportunities to acquire skills to compete in the global economy.
  2. Promoting Jobs and the Economy. Promote sustainable growth and employment opportunities in family-wage jobs for rural Oregon communities. Ensure Oregon families the right to live and work in safe and healthy communities.
  3. Protecting Oregon’s Taxpayers. Identify long-term and stable funding sources to provide for Oregon’s General Fund activities. Require state government to be accountable and sensitive to Oregon’s business climate. Enhance agency reporting of the use of these public resources. Require state agencies to be responsive to Oregon’s business and employment communities.

(This information furnished by Committee to Elect Tom Butler.)

Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney