State Representative
jackie lawson picture


Occupation: business owner of The Vintage Vine; World Gym; and polygraph examiner.

Occupational Background: Self Employed.

Educational Background:
BA graduate Seattle Pacific University; post graduate certificate Western Oregon University.

Prior Governmental Experience: Commissioner for the West Valley Housing Authority; Dallas school board budget committee; Chamber of Commerce representative to the Downtown Economic Development Association; co-chair 2000 campaign for George Bush; chairman for the re-election of Gordon Smith; serves her community currently as PCP and alternate chair of the Polk County Republican Party.

Jackie understands the challenges facing Oregon’s workers and employers. She will work for economic growth by holding the line on new taxes and creating a better business environment. She understands the stimuli necessary for growth and re-appropriation of current tax dollars to effectively put more money into resident’s pockets. The old policy of tax and spend is the enemy of job creation. Jackie is a fiscal conservative.

Jackie is a wife to David and a mother of two children, Christopher & Elizabeth. She is really a “soccer mom.” Coaching soccer is just part of her volunteer spirit. She has been involved in PTC, as a Bible study leader and sings on her church’s worship team. Jackie is a moral conservative.

Family values are the core to key issues for her- Education: more money needs to reach classrooms. As a budget committee member, she has seen the difficulty in cuts that the school districts have had to endure and is willing to evaluate budgeting at the state level so that the funding actually reaches the children where it is needed. Seniors and Women: equality and protection for their needs. Social programs that are proven ineffective do not need to continue to thrive. Personal responsibility is key to the value of personal success. Government should be in place for a hand up, not a hand out. Jackie is a social conservative.

Jackie’s principled approach to government is grounded in honesty, fairness, logic, practicality and balance.

(This information furnished by Jackie for House District 23.)
Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney