State Representative
karen minnis picture


Occupation: State Representative

Occupational Background: State Representative, legislative aide, waitress, dental assistant.

Educational Background: James Monroe High School, attended Clark Community College.

Prior Governmental Experience: State Representative 1999 – present; House Majority Leader, 2001-2002; House Speaker, January 2003 – present; Chair, Ways and Means Subcommittee on Education; Co-chair, Emergency Board; Co-chair, Legislative Administration Committee; Co-chair, Legislative Counsel Committee.

Karen Minnis: A leader for Oregon

Karen Minnis was elected Speaker of the House because of her leadership qualities. Karen led the charge last session to make sure schools, seniors, the mentally disabled and law enforcement were protected from a severe budget shortfall.

Karen Minnis: Jobs, not more taxes

Karen Minnis did not support the massive tax increase that voter’s defeated with Ballot Measure 30. Karen believes the best remedy for Oregon’s economy is to create an environment where jobs can be created and people can get back to work. When people are working, taxes are being paid and essential services are funded.

Karen Minnis: An education supporter

Karen fought for PERS reform, which saved schools more than $200 million that can be redirected into classrooms. She also introduced and passed legislation providing more opportunities for technical and vocational training.

Karen Minnis: A voice for seniors

It was Speaker Karen Minnis that fought for funding for seniors during the last legislative session, which is why she received an award from the Oregon Health Care Association for her relentless support of senior issues.

Karen Minnis: An open door

Few legislators are more responsive to constituents than Karen Minnis. Over 600 people asked for help in the last 12 months and got it from Karen’s office. She cares about the needs of people and works hard to be a good representative.

Karen Minnis is endorsed by:

Charles Becker, mayor, Gresham
Fred W. Bruning
David Fuller, mayor, Wood Village
Hiroshi Morihara
Renee Sessler
Dave Shields
Robert Silverman
Mike Weatherby, mayor, Fairview
Junki Yoshida

(This information furnished by Friends of Karen Minnis.)
Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney