State Representative
al shannon picture


Occupation: School District Services Specialist, Oregon School Boards Association

Occupational Background: School Business Systems Specialist, Oregon Department of Education: Business Manager, Estacada School District: Supervisor of Student Accounts, Central Washington University.

Educational Background: BA in Business Administration, Central Washington University.

Prior Governmental Experience: Appointed, Estacada City Council in September 1982, elected in November 1982. Appointed to Salem-Keizer School District Budget Committee, 2001-2003.

Personal: Resident of Brooks, Married to Marylin, three children and three grandchildren.

Strong Leadership: Al served 26 years in the Air Force Reserve, retiring as a Chief Master Sergeant.


The Legislature must work with Oregon businesses to create a more positive business environment. Oregon needs a strong business base to create more jobs and preserve the jobs we now have. Al will work to cut out unnecessary business regulations so Oregon can attract new businesses. We need to grow Oregon’s business community.

Al knows education. For 26 years Al has worked to make public education more accountable to taxpayers. As a school business manager, a resource for business officials on the state level, as a consultant to school boards throughout the state, and as an employee of the Oregon School Boards Association, Al advised school business officials and Superintendents in all 36 counties.

Al will use his understanding of school budgets to make sure taxpayer dollars are well spent in our schools. He will strive to make sure all students succeed and ensure our young people have a safe environment in which to learn.

School Budgets
As a member and chair of the Salem-Keizer School District Budget Committee, Al helped the district cut expenses without impacting the classroom. Al continues to demand increased efficiency in all state governmental offices. Al understands his role, as a representative of Oregon’s taxpayers, is to make sure government spends its money wisely. He will gain the trust and respect of Oregon’s voters.

Put Oregon back on track

Endorsed by AFSCME Council 75

(This information furnished by Al Shannon.)
Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney