State Representative
gene whisnant picture


Occupation: USAF Colonel, retired; Oregon State Representative; member of Joint Committee on Judiciary and House Education Committee

Occupational Background: 27 year career with the United States Air Force serving in command, leadership, staff, and diplomatic positions; served in Vietnam and Yugoslavia; served on Air Staff and Secretary of Defense Staff in the Pentagon

Educational Background: Masters degree in International Affairs, University of Arkansas; Journalism degree from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Air Command & Staff College; National Defense College

Prior Governmental Experience: Served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Deschutes County Commission on Children & Families; three term Deschutes County precinct person; Sunriver Board of Directors 1997-2000; past Treasurer and Chair of the Deschutes County Republican Party

Community Service: Member of Homeless Leadership Council, multiple veteran organizations, and the local chapter of the Military Officers Association of America; member of Sunriver Christian Fellowship Church; former youth sports coach and PTA officer

Family: Married to fourth generation Oregonian, Josie Coffey. Josie works part-time for Sunriver Resort and is a member of the Assistance League of Bend. Son, Todd, is married and lives in New Bern, NC

Gene Whisnant
Leadership with honesty and integrity

Gene, a strong advocate for grassroots democracy, believes in individual freedom, the advantages of local government decision-making, and putting Oregon’s economic recovery at the forefront of his job.

Gene knows sound financial principles – lower taxes, audits of government programs, job creation, and less regulation – will result in the economic development necessary to improve our quality of life. A healthy economy will help to ensure a stable education system, care for our seniors and disabled, and expand community safety programs.

Gene knows it’s critical to focus on natural resource and agricultural issues by supporting our farmers and ranchers and protecting the rights of property owners.

Gene Whisnant
New leadership with new ideas for Oregon

(This information furnished by Gene Whisnant.)
Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney