State Representative
phil r yount picture
Phil R.


Occupation: President and CEO, Grange Mutual Insurance Company

Occupational Background: 45 years general and financial management of primarily property-casualty insurance companies at executive level.

Educational Background: BA, Magna Cum Laude, Phi Kappa Phi, Parsons College; Professional degrees: CPCU, FLMI, CCP Prior Governmental Experience: Oregon House of Representatives; Interim House Committee on Business and Commerce; Strategic Planning Committee, Tigard Library; Park Board, Grinnell, Iowa; Board of Education, Grinnell, Iowa.

Selected by Precinct Committee Persons and County Commissioners

Representative Yount was appointed as District 35 State Representative January 28, 2004 in a joint meeting of the Washington and Multnomah County Commissioners after receiving the most votes of any candidate in the pool of five at a meeting of Precinct Committee Persons.


Representative Yount has been a resident of Tigard since moving to Oregon from Iowa in 1992. He served on the Boards of Directors of Grinnell General Hospital and Junior Achievement. He was a founding member and president of the Grinnell Community Taxpayers Association and he served one term as President of the Iowa Insurance Institute.

During the time Representative Yount has lived in Tigard, he has served on the Board of the Beaverton Education Foundation. He serves on the Executive Committee of the Tigard Grange and served as its Treasurer and Facilities Manager for nine years. As a volunteer, he assists in conducting an ESL class on Saturday mornings. Representative Yount is a member of the Beaverton Church of the Nazarene and the Tigard Chamber of Commerce.


Because Leadership and Business Experience Matter

A Vote For Representative Phil Yount is a Vote For

(This information furnished by Phil Yount for State Representative

Democratic Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress
Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative

Republican Candidates
United States President
United States Senator
Representative in Congress

Secretary of State
State Treasurer
Attorney General
State Senator
State Representative
District 1
Tom Hall
Wayne Krieger

District 2
Carol Malmay
Susan Morgan

District 3
Gordon S. Anderson

District 4
Dennis Richardson

District 5
Joanna Lofaso

District 6
Sal Esquivel

District 7
Bruce L. Hanna

District 8
Bill Young

District 9
Susan Massey

District 10
Alan Brown

District 11
Michael P. Spasaro

District 12
No Candidate Filed

District 13
Gary Pierpoint

District 14
Debi Farr

District 15
Andy Olson

District 16
Arn McKenna

District 17
Jeff Kropf

District 18
Chris Blackburn
James L. Buchal
Doug Morgan
Mac Sumner

District 19
Dan Doyle

District 20
Vicki Berger

District 21
Billy Dalto

District 22
Al Shannon
Chael Sonnen

District 23
Brian Boquist
Jackie Lawson
Cheryl Lentsch
Jim Thompson
Jim Welsh

District 24
Frank A. Butler
Donna G. Nelson

District 25
Vic Backlund
Kim Thatcher

District 26
Jerry Krummel

District 27
Gabe Schomus

District 28
No Candidate Filed

District 29
Mary Gallegos

District 30
Derrick Kitts

District 31
No Candidate Filed

District 32
Douglas S. Olson
Adam Schwend

District 33
No Candidate Filed

District 34
No Candidate Filed

District 35
Brad Fudge
Suzanne Gallagher
Phil Yount

District 36
No Candidate Filed

District 37
Scott Bruun

District 38
No Candidate Filed

District 39
Wayne Scott

District 40
David Sanders

District 41
No Candidate Filed

District 42
No Candidate Filed

District 43
Shirley (Whitehead) Freeman

District 44
No Candidate Filed

District 45
No Candidate Filed

District 46
William (Bill) C. Cornett

District 47
No Candidate Filed

District 48
Bryce Reed Anderson
Dave Mowry

District 49
Karen Minnis

District 50
John Lim
Vicki Olson

District 51
Linda Flores

District 52
Patti Smith

District 53
Gene Whisnant

District 54
Chuck Burley

District 55
George Gilman

District 56
Bill Garrard
Del Parks

District 57
Greg Smith

District 58
Bob Jenson

District 59
John H. Dallum
Van Valkenburgh, M. D.

District 60
R. Thomas (Tom) Butler

Nonpartisan Candidates
Judge of the Supreme Court
Judge of the Court of Appeals
Judge of the Circuit Court
District Attorney